F1 schedule 2020: Date, start time, TV channel for every Formula 1 race

Fans feeling the need for speed needn’t wait any longer.

While the F1 season officially got underway at the Austrian GP on July 5, the schedule for the remainder of the year is starting to fill out, with 13 races officially on the docket with room for potentially more once the landscape of the coronavirus settles globally.

Originally scheduled to feature a record 22 races, the F1 season was lopped to just 13, given the coronavirus pandemic’s effect on the sports world. Formula 1 wasn’t immune to it, either, with 15 races canceled, postponed or pending for the remainder of the year.

Originally, the Dutch Grand Prix was slated to make a return following an absence of 35 years, but the GP has unfortunately been banged, one of seven races officially canceled on the year. Five more races have been postponed, but with no makeup dates, if any, announced.

In its truest form, the 2020 F1 season is going to be a sprint, and everything you need to know about the shortened schedule can be found below.

(All times Eastern.)

Formula 1 2020 schedule

In all, there are 10 official races on the docket for the 2020 Formula One World Championship. FIA is looking to secure at least 15 races for the 2020 F1 season, with the traditional season finale at Abu Dhabi is still rumored to be on the docket for some time in December.

Lewis Hamilton and Team Mercedes cruised to an easy victory in the Styrian GP after not finishing on the podium at the start of the season on July 5. Hamilton doubled up on victories with a dominant performance at the Hungarian GP on July 19.

DateRaceCourseStart timeTV channelWinner
July 5Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring9:10 a.m.ESPNValtteri Boltas
July 12Styrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring9:10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton
July 19Hungarian Grand PrixHungaroring9:10 a.m.ESPNLewis Hamilton
Aug. 2British Grand PrixSilverstone9:10 a.m.ESPNTBD
Aug. 970th Anniversary Grand PrixSilverstone9:10 a.m.ESPNTBD
Aug. 16Spanish Grand PrixCircuit de Catalunya9:10 a.m.ESPNTBD
Aug. 30Belgian Grand PrixSpa-Francorchamps9:10 a.m.ESPNTBD
Sept. 6Italian Grand PrixMonza9:10 a.m.ESPNTBD
Sept. 13Tuscan Ferrari 1000 Grand PrixMugello9:10 a.m.ESPNTBD
Sept. 27Russian Grand PrixSochi Autodrom7:10 a.m.ESPNTBD
Oct. 11Eifel Grand PrixNurburgringTBDESPNTBD
Oct. 25Portuguese Grand PrixAlgarve International Circuit TBDESPNTBD
Nov. 1Emilia Romagna Grand PrixAutodromo Enzo e Dino FerrariTBDESPNTBD

Formula 1 2020 canceled races

Unfortunately, of F1’s original record 22-race schedule, a lot of scheduled GPs are now canceled in their entirety, including drivers’ returns to the Netherlands for the Dutch Grand Prix.

While some races are awaiting rescheduling, the following have been officially canceled:

RaceOriginal dateCircuit
Australian Grand PrixMarch 15Albert Park
Dutch Grand PrixMay 3Zandvoort
Monaco Grand PrixMay 24Monaco
Azerbaijan Grand PrixJune 7Baku City
French Grand PrixJune 28Paul Ricard
Singapore Grand PrixSept. 20Marina Bay
Japanese Grand PrixOct. 11Suzuka International

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *